Dignitaries, celebrities and media personalities witness the crowning of European Youth Film competition 2017 winners


An A-List of who is who in the entertainment industry witnessed the crowning of the winner of the inaugural European Youth Film Competition 2017 during the Grand Finale held on Saturday 16th September 2017 at the National Museum situated along Shabaan Robert Street.

The European Youth Film Competition that took place in a period of 3 months finally drew its curtains as Top 5 quality produced movies battled it out under the theme ‘Population Growth: a development challenge or opportunity? The general objective of the competition was to facilitate a competition that will spark dialogue among youth on the impact of overpopulation in development; as well as support development youth-led agenda through art and creativity

The contestants who produced short films that went into the Top 5 slot are Dennis Chacha, Freddy Feruzi, Louis Shoo, Rashid Songoro and Taragwa Anthony.

During the announcement of the Winner, The Head of the EU Delegation to Tanzania, Ambassador Roeland van de Geer said  ‘The movies that made it to top 5 were selected according to compliance with the theme, creativity, video quality and compliance to the rules of submission.

Following a three day workshop which covered the facts, figures and implications of population growth in Tanzania and all elements of film making from pre – to post-production, the contestants were well prepared to face the challenge of capturing their thoughts on the topic on film. The workshop demonstrated that the high population growth in Tanzania provides for opportunities but also poses significant challenges, for example for social services such as health, education as well as infrastructure.

The Top 5 was as a result of an evaluation by a panel of judges made up of Mr Richard Ndunguru, Mr Issa Mbura, Mr Amil Shvji, Mr Deepesh  Shapriya, and guest judge Ms Tulanana Buhohela, Dr. Vincensia Shule and Kantarama Gahigiri.

An animation short film called Shida za Uani by Taragwa Anthony won the first prize worth Tshs 7 million, while the first runner up short film Tone by Rashid Songoro won prizes worth Tshs 5million and the second runner-up documentary by Fred Feruzi prizes worth Tshs 3 million. Watoto Wangu short film by Louis Show won the Best thematic Film while a documentary Watu na Samaki by Wambura Mwikabe won the People’s Choice Award.

The competition is organized by the Delegation of the European Union to the United Republic of Tanzania and the East African Community, in collaboration with the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the Embassy of France, the Alliance Française, British Council, and in close cooperation with the Tanzania Film Board.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here